HOLLA for Challah Bread

The one thing I love is warming the house with something nice baking in the oven and what better item than Bread. Even better, CHALLAH!!!!
Challah is a special Jewish braided bread eaten on Sabbath and Jewish holidays. My Mom would but it almost every Friday after work, and bring it home. I LOVED It.

After moving to Sweden, I had not found anything close to it in the shops so my mission was to make this bread myself. I searched the internet and finally I found a recipe that embodies the Challah from the Jewish Bakeries my Mom would patron. Then I Machiavellied it!

First things first, the  yeast, sugar, water into my mixing bowl for the yeast to grow.

20170105_19513320170105_195334

I put the bowl into another smaller bowl of hot water. It makes the bowl warm and the yeast grow.

20170105_195742 20170105_200206 20170105_200837

While waiting , I measure out the flour and blend the egg and oil in two separate bowls.

Now the fun begins! After the yeast has risen, (it should look like a bubbly gray cloud) attach your dough hook and add 3½ cups of flour. Start blending, then add the oil/egg mixture and then the last 3 cups flour.  You may not need(Knead.. hahaha) all of it all the flour so mix until it starts pulling itself away from the walls of the mixing bowl.
After 10 minutes, it is smooth, nice and pliable.  I form it into a nice ball and place it into a lightly oiled bowl. I cover the bowl with plastic then put the bowl in my oven.  Don’t worry, the oven is NOT on, but it’s a nice, cozy place. The temperature here has been rather chilly.  Other places are on top of your fridge or even on the counter next to the stove.  
*You can do this whole process without a mixer. I’ve done it by hand. It just takes a bit of elbow grease and you get the same job done. You’ll appreciate yourself and your skills. Plus, less to clean! Woo Hoo!

If I start this process at night, at this point I would put the covered bowl in my fridge for a slow overnight rise.  Make space for the chance of an overflow.
In the morning, I would take it out, punch it down, take it out the bowl, form it back into a ball and
place it back in the bowl and begin the 2 hour rise. 
If you don’t wanna wait overnight, just let it rise!

Now, I can take it and form it as I desire.  Let  them  rest  and  rise  for  approximately  45 minutes.

I pre-heated the oven, give the breads a nice brush of the egg wash mix and put one tray in the oven first to bake, When that was done I did the loaf.
And Viola! BREAD!! We have BREAD!!! Happy Dance!! Yes! It took some hours but it is so worth it in the end!

20170106_093900
Don’t be Scaarrred! Try this recipe!

Challah

  • Servings: 2 Challahs
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Prep Time: 3 hrs
Total Time: 3 hrs 35 mins
Serves: 2, Yield: 2 Challahs

  • INGREDIENTS

      • 3 ½ cups all-purpose flour  
        PLUS 3½  cups all purpose flour
      • 2(1/4 ounce) packages dry yeast
      • 1 egg, beaten
      • 12 cup vegetable oil
      • 1 tablespoon salt
      • 12 cup sugar
      • 2 cups warm water (80 -90)
    • Sesame seeds (for serving) optional
     

    RECIPE PREPARATION

      • First measure out all your ingredients.
      • Now from the 1/2 of cup sugar take 1 tablespoon of the sugar & combine it with the yeast& warm water.
      • I let my mixer bowl which is metal (OBH Nordica) sit in a hot water bath while the yeast dissolves, 10 minutes.
      • After the yeast has dissolved (it’s nice & foamy) add to it the rest of the sugar, 3 1/2 cups flour and salt.
      • Mix well (I use the bread hook) OR a wooden spoon if I am not using a Mixer.
      • Add egg & oil mixture
      • Slowly start mixing in most of the remaining 3 ½ cups of flour. You may not need it all.
      • When the dough pulls away from the sides of the bowl, turn it onto a lightly floured surface & knead for approximately 10 minutes.
      • Knead until dough is smooth & elastic, springing back when pressed lightly with your fingertip.
      • Place dough into a large oiled bowl turning the dough once so its oiled on all sides.
      • Cover with a damp towel or plastic & let rise in a warm place for approximately 2 hours.  After about **45 minutes check the rise and push down the dough. Cover it again and leave it  to rise for another hour or so up to 2 hours.
        **I normally set a Timer 
      • After the 2 hours, turn your dough onto your working surface.
      • Now comes the forming part.
      • Prepare your baking sheet lining it with parchment paper.
      • Take a large knife & cut the dough in half.
      • Set half aside for 2 Challahs OR keep it whole for 1 large Challah
      • Divide the remaining dough into approximately equal thirds.
      • Roll each third out till its about 10-12 inches
      • Place all three rolls onto the baking papper
      • Braid all 3 rolls together pinching the top & bottom half together & turning them slightly under.
      • Now let the challah rise for 1/2 an hour to 45 minutes.
      • Preheat oven to 375°F/190°C
      • After the challah has risen glaze with beaten egg & add or sesame if you wish.
      • Put in preheated oven & let bake for exactly 25 minutes!
      • Turn off oven & leave Challahs in for exactly another 10 minutes!
      • Remove from oven.
      • Cool, slice, eat, enjoy!

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.